Dental insurance in Australia is sold as extras cover, not a separate policy. In 2026, single extras policies that include orthodontics cost roughly $57 to $217 a month before the government rebate, depending on the fund, state and tier. Expect a 2-month wait for general dental and 12 months for major dental and braces, with orthodontic lifetime limits of about $1,500 to $3,500.
Australia does not have stand-alone dental insurance the way the United States does. Dental is one of the services bundled into extras cover (also called general treatment or ancillary cover), which you can buy on its own or alongside hospital cover from any registered health fund. In 2026 there are about 30 funds, and the cheapest extras policies that include dental start around $20 to $40 a month for a single, while the policies in our table that also include orthodontics run from roughly $57 to $217 a month before the government rebate.
Every extras policy sorts dental into three buckets, and each bucket has its own waiting period and limit:
Funds pay either a percentage of the dentist’s fee (for example 60%, 85% or 90% back, capped by the limit) or a set dollar benefit per item number. Percentage-back policies are easier to understand; set-benefit policies can pay more or less depending on what your dentist charges. Either way, you will usually pay a gap.
The table below lists one extras policy per fund that includes orthodontics, with the single-person monthly premium, waiting period and limits taken from each fund’s Private Health Information Statement (PHIS) on the Australian Government’s privatehealth.gov.au comparison site. We checked every row on 1 November 2026. Where a PHIS did not state a figure, the cell says so rather than guessing.
A few things to keep in mind when you read it. Premiums vary by state, so the policy and state shown are the ones we could verify, and your quote will differ. The figures are before the Australian Government Rebate (which cuts the premium by roughly 8% to 25% for most people under 65, depending on income) and before any fund discounts. Limits are per policy per year unless the cell says otherwise, and “within combined limit” means orthodontics shares one pool with other dental services.
| Fund | Policy (state shown on PHIS) | Single premium per month | Ortho waiting period | Ortho annual limit | Ortho lifetime limit | Major dental annual limit | PHIS ID |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ahm | choosable 60 – teeth / eyes / muscle & bone (NSW & ACT) | $72.70 | 12 months | Within $800 combined dental limit | $1,800 | Within $800 combined dental limit | AHM/I105/NGPG10 |
| Australian Unity | Top Extras (NSW & ACT) | $130.30 | 12 months | $800 | $3,200 | $1,000 (with endodontic) | AUF/I42/NHVV10 |
| Bupa | Top Extras 90 (NSW & ACT) | $217.10 | 12 months | $1,400 | $2,800 | $1,200 (with endodontic) | BUP/I15/NBKG10 |
| CBHS (restricted) | Top Extras (NSW & ACT) | $111.41 | 12 months | $2,800 | $2,800 | $7,340 (sub-limits apply) | CBH/I1/NASB10 |
| Defence Health (restricted) | Premier Extras (NSW & ACT) | $121.23 | 12 months | $1,000 | No lifetime limit | $1,100 (with endodontic) | AHB/I3/NCGG10 |
| Doctors' Health Fund (restricted) | Total Extras (all states) | $162.05 | 12 months | Accrues $600 per year of membership | $3,000 | $4,200 (with endodontic and other services) | AMA/I3/A0000S |
| Frank (GMHBA) | Frank Extras 50% (SA) | $68.35 | 12 months | $500 | $1,750 | $750 (with endodontic) | GMH/I40/SLCB10 |
| GMHBA | Top Extras (VIC) | $92.60 | 12 months | Within $2,000 combined extras limit | $2,900 | Within $2,000 combined extras limit | GMH/I6B/VLHF10 |
| HBF | Everyday Extras (QLD) | $115.71 | 12 months | Within $1,500 combined major dental limit | $2,500 | $1,500 (with endodontic and orthodontic) | HBF/I14/QYMY10 |
| HCF | Advanced Extras (TAS) | $103.83 | 12 months | $800 with an orthodontist ($400 with other dentists) | $2,400 with an orthodontist ($1,200 with other dentists) | $1,150 (with endodontic and other services) | HCF/I28/TIXZ10 |
| Health Partners | National Extras (all states) | $101.79 | 12 months | Not stated on PHIS (sub-limits apply) | $2,500 | $1,500 | SPS/I4/AACI10 |
| Latrobe Health Services | Top Extras (VIC) | $76.87 | 12 months | $300 | $2,000 | Within $1,200 combined extras limit | LHS/I15/VCJQ10 |
| Medibank | Extras 85 (NSW & ACT) | $204.50 | 12 months | $1,600 opening balance, plus $500 a year | $3,500 | $1,600 (with endodontic) | MBP/I51/NCSW10 |
| Mildura Health Fund | Base Extras and Dental – AD (all states) | $56.75 | 24 months | Within $1,050 combined dental limit ($350 in first year) | $1,500 | Within $1,050 combined dental limit ($350 in first year) | MDH/I6/AAAW10 |
| nib | Core Boost, Family and Young at Heart Extras (NSW & ACT) | $129.32 | 12 months | $350 | $1,500 | $1,000 (with endodontic) | NIB/I25/NBQR10 |
| Peoplecare | Comprehensive Extras (NSW & ACT) | $100.92 | 12 months | $2,100 | $2,100 | $2,650 (sub-limits apply) | LHM/I1/NICM10 |
| Phoenix Health Fund | Top Extras Cover (WA) | $131.63 | 12 months | $1,200 | $2,400 | $2,000 ($1,000 sub-limits for crowns, implants, dentures, veneers) | PWA/TA/WEEL10 |
| St Lukes | Super Extras (SA) | $138.80 | 12 months | $1,000 (within major dental limit) | $2,800 | $1,200 (with endodontic) | SLM/I9/SCPS10 |
| Teachers Health (restricted) | Top Extras (state not verified) | Not verified | 12 months | Not verified | $2,500 per person | Not verified | Fund FAQ only; PHIS not retrieved |
| Westfund | Mid Extras (NSW & ACT) | $63.18 | 12 months | $500 | $2,500 | Within $1,125 combined dental limit | WFD/I13/NCCT10 |
See orthodontic and major-dental limits by fund, or get a broker quote in two minutes.
We may earn a fee if you take out a policy via "Get a quote". Our fund table includes funds that pay us nothing. How we make money
Rows are in alphabetical order by fund name by default, and you can re-sort by any column. The order never reflects a commercial relationship. Some links on this site earn us a referral fee (for example to comparison services or to nib), but no fund has paid to appear in, be excluded from, or move up this table. Our how we choose page explains the method.
We compared the 20 funds above. Not included in this edition: HIF, Qantas Health Insurance, AIA Health, Queensland Country Health Fund, Navy Health, Police Health, Emergency Services Health, RT Health, TUH, Nurses & Midwives Health, UniHealth, Union Health, Reserve Bank Health Society, Transport Health, HCi, onemedifund, ACA Health, Territory Health Fund, GU Health, and the retail brands that resell nib or other funds’ products (such as AAMI, Apia, Suncorp and Real). Four funds in the table (CBHS, Defence Health, Doctors’ Health Fund and Teachers Health) are restricted-membership funds, so you can only join if you or a family member meets their eligibility rules. For Teachers Health we could only verify the orthodontic waiting period and lifetime limit from the fund’s own FAQ, not a PHIS, so the other cells are marked “not verified”.
Waiting periods are the single most common reason a dental claim is refused. On every policy we checked, orthodontics carries a 12-month wait (24 months at Mildura Health Fund), and major dental is 12 months. General dental is normally 2 months. Those are fund rules, not law, so they can be waived.
When a fund advertises “no waiting periods on dental”, it almost always means the 2-month general dental wait is waived for new members, usually for a limited sign-up window. We have not seen a 2026 offer that waives the 12-month orthodontic wait, and only occasionally the major dental wait. If you need braces or a crown soon, join now and plan for the wait rather than hunting for a policy that skips it.
If you switch funds for equal or lower extras cover, the Private Health Insurance Act lets the new fund recognise waiting periods you have already served, and most funds honour this for dental. Your orthodontic lifetime limit also carries across: whatever you have already claimed for braces at one fund is deducted from what you can claim at the next, as Teachers Health’s FAQ spells out. Check your policy before switching mid-treatment.
The cheapest policies in our table cost about $57 to $73 a month, but their dental limits are tight. Mildura’s base policy pools all dental into $1,050 a year with only $350 claimable in your first year; ahm’s choosable 60 pools general, major and orthodontic dental into $800 a year; HCF’s General Extras in NSW (not in the table, $53.57 a month) pays up to $250 a year on orthodontics with a $1,500 lifetime cap. These suit someone who wants check-ups covered and a small contribution to the occasional filling.
At the other end, Bupa Top Extras 90 ($217.10) and Medibank Extras 85 ($204.50) have no general dental annual limit, pay 85% to 90% back, and give $2,800 to $3,500 towards braces over a lifetime. Mid-priced policies such as Peoplecare Comprehensive Extras ($100.92, $2,100 orthodontic lifetime limit) and Australian Unity Top Extras ($130.30, $3,200 lifetime) sit between the two.
A simple sense-check: add up what you would claim in a normal year (two check-ups and cleans is typically $300 to $450 in benefits on a mid-tier policy) and compare that with 12 months of premiums. Dental-only buyers often find a cheap or mid-tier policy pays for itself only if they also use optical, physio or another extras service. Orthodontic buyers should look at the lifetime limit first and the premium second, because a $2,500 to $3,500 lifetime benefit against a typical $6,000 to $9,000 course of braces is the figure that matters. Our braces cost guide has the treatment-side numbers.
A dental plan is not insurance. Membership plans sold by dentist networks, practice groups and some comparison sites charge a flat annual fee (often $80 to $150 a year) in return for discounted fees at participating clinics, sometimes with a free check-up included. There are no waiting periods or claim limits because nothing is being claimed; you simply pay less at the chair. They are not regulated as health insurance, do not attract the government rebate, and do not help with the Medicare Levy Surcharge.
Dental insurance through extras cover pays a benefit after you are treated, has waiting periods and annual and lifetime limits, and is regulated under the Private Health Insurance Act with a PHIS for every policy. Some funds combine both ideas: members who use a fund-owned or “members’ choice” dental clinic get set fees plus no-gap check-ups.
If you only ever need check-ups and the occasional filling, a dental plan or simply paying as you go can be cheaper than extras. If you expect major dental or orthodontics, or you also use other extras, insurance usually wins. The dental payment plans guide covers financing the gap either way.
Extras cover will not pay for treatment during a waiting period, anything above your annual or lifetime limit, cosmetic work that most funds exclude (teeth whitening and veneers purely for appearance are common exclusions, though some top policies include in-chair whitening), treatment from an unregistered provider, or claims where Medicare or a third party (such as workers’ compensation) is the primary payer. Hospital-based dental surgery, such as wisdom teeth removal under general anaesthetic, is split: the surgeon’s fee is an extras claim and the hospital and anaesthetist are a hospital cover claim.
Children can also use the Medicare-funded Child Dental Benefits Schedule for basic care before touching extras limits; our Medicare and CDBS guide explains the $1,158 cap and who qualifies.
This page is general information only. It is not personal financial product advice and does not take your circumstances into account. Policy names, premiums and limits change, often on 1 April each year. Always check the current PHIS and your own policy document, and consider getting advice from a licensed adviser before buying or switching health insurance.
General information, not personal advice. Prices are indicative and change; always get a written quote. Editorial policy · Disclaimer
Order follows the column you sort by, never a commercial relationship. General information, not insurance advice; read the fund's own statement before buying.